2012 recap

At the last day of the year it makes sense to look back at the year and make conclusions and future plans. 2012 was the best year of my life. Without any doubt. Here’s a short recap.

2012-11-03 00.49.331) Becoming a father would have been sufficient enough to make the year the best one so far. The fathers/mothers out there know what I mean, the rest can only imagine. It’s a great feeling. The moments when your kid smiles when sees you, the moment he loughs out loud for the first time… Many more of those moments still to come – awesome!

2) Launching Gamefounders. In January when I was in the Oasis500 bootcamp I did not have the slightest clue that less than a year later I’d have my own

Interviews for the 2nd batch (with special guest attending:)

Interviews for the 2nd batch (with special guest attending:)

accelerator, have run the first batch and are in the process of choosing the next one. It has been a wild ride but everything has been going even better than we imagined. We have been lucky received a fair amount of attention and media coverage too since we are pioneering the concept of gaming-specialized accelerator. Of course this would have been impossible without our awesome team: Kadri, Sven and Paul. Well done, us.:)

The only triathlon I did in 2012 was Tartu Triathlon

The only triathlon I did in 2012 was Tartu Triathlon

3) Sports. I ran personal bests in 10k, half-marathon and marathon distances. It was also the first time in my life I managed to run sub 40-min 10k (39:02) and sub 1:30 half-marathon (1:27:36).

This year I made the first real multi-day hike I’ve ever done. With my childhood friend Tim we took our bicycles and cycled through the longest trail in Estonia in four days.

The only downside (sportswise) for the year was perhaps that for the first time since 2004 I did not ski a single marathon, thus I’ve already some plans for 2013. 🙂

The creator of the independant state of Kosovo

The creator of the independant state of Kosovo

4) Travel. Just as planned I visited 5 new countries – this time these were Jordan, Luxembourg, Ukraine, Macedonia, Kosovo. All of them were very interesting. I particularly liked Jordan, as the first middle-eastern country I’ve ever been to. There will surely be more of those coming in the following years. The overall count is on 46 now.

Last, but definitely not least it was a very interesting year in lot of perspectives. Mentoring startups in Finland, Lithuania and Macedonia, working my ass off to make Gamefounders happen, learning to change diapers and appreciate that, embracing myself in the fascinating world of gaming, attending friends’ weddings, meeting the Queen of Jordan, earning a B2-certificate in Spanish, RHCP Live concert … there are just too many things to count them all out here.

All of this sets the bar very high for 2013. But I’m ready. Bring it on!

Leave a Reply

